F*cking Perfect

Fashion is just another human attempt at finding perfection. The universal aspiration for happiness, whatever its shape or form, is quite simply our way to try and master our creations into flawlessness. Fashion is fascinating because it brings together many strands of the art world as an ensemble.

However, as the industry expands and envelops (by use of the almighty Internet, bless its heart) more and more people, there are certain sides to it that get blown out of proportion and gain undue importance. People tend to lose sight of the purpose, getting caught up in random aspects such as the perfection of the human body, another oxymoron. Perfectibility is as general as the aspiration to become imperfectible, but we should keep in mind that even near-perfection is extremely perishable. It’s our fate to decline, but I’m certain we should thouroughly enjoy every step of the way.

Ahh, can you tell I’m feeling better? Yay for beating the cold! This little article was inspired by 2 things:

1:

An inspirational text/image our friends posted on their tumblrs, and clearly a message to go around our group but more on that later and privately, hehe.

and 2:

Pink’s F*cking Perfect, an ode to our individuality and an appeal to self love. Pink’s such a rad lady, no?

I wrote this because I want to always remind myself and those dear to me that being imperfect is perfect enough for those that matter.

This entry was posted in From the heart. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to F*cking Perfect

  1. Bella Q says:

    I’m not sure for me the search for perfection is the motivation of fashion. But I do believe it is closely linked with self expression, and expression of belonging.

    • Ioana says:

      thanks for expressing your opinion on the matter!
      and of course I can see your point, it’s practically implicit that self expression is linked to fashion. in fact, I think our garment choices are rather synonymous to self expression in its rawest form. on the other hand, I can’t say that the expression of belonging is something I see as very desirable in the process of styling oneself.

      it’s actually the core point of what I was trying to express in the post: art should imitate life, not the other way around.

Leave a Reply

