Alexander McQueen Pre-Fall 2011

It still takes adjusting to thinking of the Alexander McQueen-less Alexander McQueen. Don’t get me wrong, in no way do I think Sarah Burton isn’t doing a good job. She is. But as we draw nearer to the 1 year mark from his death, it makes me feel… emm… nostalgic? I guess that’s the word.

So, off to business we go!

alexander mcqueen, pre-fall 2011

The collection involves a plethora of military-inspired elements. The usage of red and navy  fabrics and gold buttons provide a strong marine-y feel.

alexander mcqueen, pre-fall 2011

The overall sensation is one of beautiful empowerment. While clicking through the first pictures of the collection, I meant to say that it doesn’t present the same amount of fascination, that the old no-restraints, completely free fantasy, that Alexander McQueen used to mean, but I had to eat up my words in the end.

alexander mcqueenThis dress. Oh boy. This is what made me reconsider. After all, this is sort of a mini-collection, and not as much of an art installation as regular fashion season shows are. And still, pure beauty in a dress.

alexander mcqueen

alexander mcqueen, pre-fall 2011
This entry was posted in Fashion Week Reviews, Today's Favorite and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Alexander McQueen Pre-Fall 2011

  1. remodeling says:

    I’m glad that I’ve found your ephemeralmaze.wordpress.com web site.
    It was a helpful workout for me to discover your webpage. It definitely stretches the limits with the mind when you locate helpful information and make an effort to interpret it properly. I am going to glance up this web site often on my PC. Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

